Aside

What is the Spirit of Christmas?

6 Dec

IMG_20121206_145510

It’s the first week of December and you know what that means? Get ready to be broke by this time next month thanks to our favorite commercial holiday Christmas.  What do you mean Christmas is a religious holiday? Santa Clause would kick Jesus ass in a poll this time of year, Jesus is king in most places all year around but lets be real here in the U.S we’ve made the Clause boss of December.  We only have him to thank for our financial woes to start the new year, thank goodness for Uncle Sam and his refund aka most of our vacation money.  It’s time to start figuring out the spirit of Christmas folks sure we hear the songs on the radio see the decorations and know it’s time to shop but do you really feel the spirit and what is it?

I’m that guy who gets a fake tree I don’t like to clean up messy leaves and having to toss it out after the new year.  I am quite the bum its much easier buying my standard plastic tree that sits in a box all year in the attic then picking out one in the cold.  So you like the smell of a tree in your living room I have a easy solution get some Pine sol that’s right the cleaning product.  And spritz your tree with it trust me it will smell pineier then the real thing.  I love the people that go all out decorating its really pretty and heck if you got the time and can afford that outrageous electric bill go for it.  I rather keep my decorations indoors but that comes from years of living in an apartment don’t think my jewish landlord would be to fond of me saint nicking up the place.

Then theres the shopping some of you already took a hit to the wallet if your one of those black Friday bargain hunters who left your house under the influence of the itis thanks to turkey, potato, pies and what ever else you stuffed yourself with.  Leaving the comfort of your home at midnight or four AM with your silly tired asses all in the name of early Christmas shopping and saving a few bucks.  Chances are you won’t even wake up at 3 am to go to work but you can sure get up for that 25 dollar gift card you can get at Macys.  I could never do this and hey more power to those of you that do, I prefer sitting my lazy latino ass on my comfy couch scratching and sniffing my balls while watching Sportscenter and shopping on my Tablet.

I did not grow up in a rich household by any stretch of the imagination, I was lucky to get a gift on Christmas and maybe my birthday from my parents.  And that’s cool especially cause whatever I got was something I wanted a toy or videogame.  I’ll never forget how excited I was that Christmas morning I got my Nitendo I’d turn into a life long gamer that day.  I also remember all the crappy gifts I got from Aunts, Uncles and other relatives.  It was always a sweater or underwear never a He-man sword or Ninja Turtle.  I know that philosophy get them what they need not want sometimes applies but if you can folks get the kids a toy or a book on Christmas something that show’s you know who they are and what they like.  Or they will grow up secretly hating you.

Thankfully we live in a time  with a  new North Pole called the internet and all you got to do is search and click pretty sweet.  Especially if your friends and family have gone out of there way to tell you exactly what they want this year by making a wishlist.  Yeah it takes away the fun of personalizing gifts, I love knowing someone went out of there way to get me what they knew I would like.  Shows they took time and effort, but most of us don’t have that much time and we tend to suck at gift giving.  So internet shopping is an easy solution to most of the problems we encounter with Christmas shopping.

I have even in-cooperated social networks into my gift giving, I’m on Google plus if you never heard of G+ it’s like Facebook for the smart cool kids.  There a group of people started a Secret Santa so you can find your internet friends or even strangers and get them gifts off of their Amazon Wishlist.  I know sounds creepy right?  Well its not especially when I just saw a beautiful picture of my friend and her son playing with a toy I brought him off her list.    She lives across the country and I’ve never met her in real life but to see those lovely smiles touched me.

That my friends is the spirit of Christmas it’s not about the most expensive thing nor is it about Santa or Jesus.  Simmer down now I am not trying to get into a religious debate, to each his own believe in what or who you want nothing is wrong with that folks.  What you should make Christmas about is making someone smile, whether its picking a random stranger off the internet.  Or giving your cold mailman a cup of coffee to warm up, maybe drawing a funny picture for your coworker in the cubicle next to you.  Whatever you do make it about someone else and giving them a smile then you get a free pass to be a dick or a bitch all day trust me it works.  Seriously though show someone you normally wouldn’t you care it goes along way at making the world a better place.

One Response to “What is the Spirit of Christmas?”

  1. Enrique December 8, 2012 at 7:52 pm #

    I think you’ve made some really good points. the bottom line is no matter how you treat the holiday season remember to share your wealth with someone else. even the smallest gesture goes a long way.

Leave a Reply

